Hawaii State Quarter

hawaii-state-quarterThe fiftieth and last quarter of the 50 State Quarters Program was the Hawaii State Quarter.  Hawaii became an official state on August 21, 1959.  This quarter was released on November 3, 2008 by the United States Mint.

Designed and engraved by Don Everhart, the reverse side of the Hawaii State quarter contains a statue of Kamehameha I, the first king of Hawaii.

To the left of the statue are images of the Hawaiian islands, and the inscription “UA MAU KE EA O KA ‘AINA I KA PONO”, which translates to ” The life of the land is perpetuated in righteousness.” At the top of the quarter is the name of the state and the date of statehood.  The bottom of the image contains the mintage date, and the inscription “E Pluribus Unum”.

Governor Linda Lingle announced the design selection based on recommendations from the Hawai‘i Commemorative Quarter Advisory Commission.  Potential designs for the quarter had been put on a public on-line poll for votes.  Launch of the state quarter took place at Bishop Square, which is located in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Coin Specifications of the Hawaii State quarter:

  • Mintage:  254,000,000 Phialdelphia, 263,600,000 Denver
  • Coin Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel (clad), 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof)
  • Diameter: 24.26 mm
  • Weight: 5.67 grams
  • Thickness: 1.75 mm
  • Edge: Reeded

[phpbay]2008 Hawaii State Quarter, 5, “”, “”[/phpbay]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *